MERET OPPENHEIM — My Exhibition

Intro

My Exhibition 22.10.21–13.2.22

Meret Oppenheim’s (1913-1985) first retrospective is held in the Moderna Museet Stockholm in 1967. By this point the artist can already look back on 30 years of constant work. With “Ma gouvernante – my nurse – mein Kindermädchen” and other works she created icons of Surrealism.

“I suggested to C.F. Reuterswärd that rather than ‘Portrait’ he use an x-ray of my skull, with big ear-rings, neck and hand, also with necklace and ring. C.F.R. liked it a lot, shall I send it?”

Meret Oppenheim, 1967 Letter to Mette Prawitz, Moderna Museet Stockholm, 18.1.1967, Archive Moderna Museet

It’s a paradoxical situation: the museum does not accept the suggestion and instead uses a nude photo of her. In the photo the 54-year-old is 20 years old. The cover of the catalogue also features not a work by Oppenheim but a design by the artist C.F. Reuterswärd. At this moment of her greatest success so far she understands that she will have to manage her public image as an artist herself.

“Röntgenaufnahme des Schädels M.O.” (X-ray of M.O.'s Skull), 1964/1981, silver gelatine print, 40,5 × 30,5 cm, edition: 6/20, Hermann und Margrit Rupf-Stiftung, Kunstmuseum Bern © 2021, ProLitteris, Zurich. Photo Kunstmuseum Bern, recom Art Berlin

This self-portrait is symbolic of Meret Oppenheim, who always continued to develop her work with radical openness. She actively included different materials and current trends into her work and never stuck with one style or method.

Load complete Digitorial

Please rotate device.

The Digitorial is optimised for portrait mode.

MERET OPPENHEIM — Mon exposition

Intro

Mon exposition 22.10.21–13.2.22

En 1967, la première rétrospective de Meret Oppenheim (1913–1985) prend place au Moderna Museet de Stockholm. A cette date, l'artiste a déjà plus de 30 ans de travail derrière elle. Avec « Ma gouvernante – my nurse – mein Kindermädchen » et d'autres œuvres, elle a créé des icônes du surréalisme.

« J'ai suggéré à C.F. Reuterswärd de mettre une radiographie de mon crâne avec grandes boucles d'oreilles, de mon cou et de ma main aussi avec chaîne et bagues, dans le catalogue à la place de ‹ portrait ›. C.F.R. a beaucoup aimé, dois-je l'envoyer ? »

Meret Oppenheim, 1967 Lettre à Mette Prawitz, Moderna Museet Stockholm, 18.1.1967, Archives du Moderna Museet

La situation est paradoxale : le musée n'accepte pas la proposition et utilise à la place une photo d'elle nue. Oppenheim, alors âgée de 54 ans, a 20 ans sur cette photo. La couverture du catalogue n'est pas ornée d'une œuvre de l'artiste, mais d'un dessin de l'artiste C.F. Reuterswärd. A l’heure de son plus grand succès, elle se rend compte qu'elle doit contrôler elle-même son image publique en tant qu'artiste.

« Radiographie du crâne M.O. », 1964/1981, tirage gélatino-argentique, 40,5 x 30,5 cm, édition 6/20, Fondation Hermann et Margrit Rupf, Kunstmuseum Bern © 2021, ProLitteris, Zurich, Photo: Kunstmuseum Bern, recom Art Berlin

Cet autoportrait est emblématique de Meret Oppenheim qui a toujours fait évoluer son travail avec une franchise radicale. Elle a activement incorporé différents matériaux et mouvements artistiques contemporains dans son travail et n'est jamais restée attachée à un style ni à une méthode.

Chargement complet du Digitorial

Please rotate device.

The Digitorial is optimised for portrait mode.